EuroHPC - Web Content detail page - News



European HPC Initative

The exascale race is not over, yet. Seven European countries signed a declaration in March 2017 at an HPC session at the Digital Day 2017 in Rome, aiming for the acquisition of two world-class pre-exascale supercomputers preferably starting on 2019-2020, and two world-class full exascale supercomputers preferably starting on 2022-2023. At least one of the two exascale computers should be based on high-quality competitive European technology produced in a co-design approach and its integration in at least one of the two exascale supercomputers. The European Commission reaffirmed Junker's goal of having at least one system amongst the first three in the TOP500 of the world's fastest supercomputers in 2022.

The meanwhile thirtheen countries, Croatia, Bulgaria, Greece, Switzerland, Slovenia, Belgium, Germany, Portugal, France, Spain, Italy, the Netherlands Luxembourg and the Netherlands, agreed to the work on an implementation roadmap by the end of 2017 (meanwhile planned for early 2018). That seems a little late to have an all European exascale supercomputer already 5 years later. The funding is not yet clear. How much will the thirteen countries invest? The funding available from the European Union is more or less known from the Horizon 2020 budget: 700 million euro.

More information: